Scottish Labour is set for its biggest regional list selection ever, with 106 candidates shortlisted to be chosen by members in January.

Following Kezia Dugdale’s commitment to a 50:50 Parliament earlier in the year, the group of potential candidates takes Scottish Labour a step closer to ensuring that at least 50% of new candidates for next year’s Holyrood elections will be women.

Speaking as the shortlists for every region were revealed, Kezia Dugdale said:

“This is one of the most diverse shortlists of candidates that Scottish Labour has ever offered. At least half of our new Holyrood candidates next year will be women – and this shortlist takes us a step closer to a 50:50 Parliament. Our Parliament should look like the communities we seek to serve, and we will lead the way in making sure that women across Scotland have a voice.

We want candidates next year who reflect modern Scotland and demonstrate to people that the Scottish Labour Party offers not just new faces, but new ideas to take our country forward. These candidates are drawn from every walk of life and many professions – charity workers, campaigners, lawyers, business people, office workers, creatives and trade unionists can all be found on this list.

I’m really proud of the candidates we are putting forward and I hope this process energises and engages party members across the country.”

Members will vote throughout January, with an announcement of the order of each regional list made in early February. Lists will be ‘zipped’ to ensure gender parity with subsequent list positions alternating between men and women.

Ballots open on Monday 4th January and close on Monday 1st February. Results will be announced on the weekend of 5th-7th February.

List of Shortlisted Candidates

Central Scotland

Allyson Black
Martyn Cook
Angela Feeney
Hugh Gaffney
Linda Gow
Mark Griffin
Liz Ann Handibode
Paul Kelly
Jim Lee
Monica Lennon
Richard Leonard
Craig Martin
Margaret McCulloch
Siobhan McMahon
Michael McMahon
Heather McVey
John Pentland
Elaine Smith
Mandy Telford
Richard Tullett


James Adams
Bill Butler
Patricia Ferguson
Marie Garrity
James Kelly
Johann Lamont
Simon MacFarlane
Hanzala Malik
Paul Martin
Pauline McNeill
Anne McTaggart
Samantha Ritchie
Anas Sarwar
Soryia Siddique

Highlands and Islands

Sarah Atkin
Robina Barton
John Erskine
Leah Franchetti
Rhoda Grant
Gerry McGarvey
Sean Morton
David Stewart


(First position: Kezia Dugdale)

Sarah Boyack
Jalal Chaudry
Richard Corrall
Neil Findlay
Bernard Harkins
Catriona Headley
Ann Henderson
Lesley Hinds
Daniel Johnson
Shami Khan
Eilidh MacDonald
Angela Moohan
Otis Manasseh Ortesheh

Mid Scotland and Fife

(First position: Alex Rowley)

Claire Baker
Jayne Baxter
Rebecca Bell
Johanna Boyd
Altany Craik
Thomas Docherty
Jamie Glackin
Cara Hilton
Mark Hood
Chris Kane
Lesley Laird
Jim Leishman
Mary Lockhart
Craig Miller
Kay Morrison

North East Scotland

Lewis Macdonald
Jenny Marra
Lesley Brennan
Sarah Duncan
Alison Evison
Frank Gilfeather
Richard McCready
Joanne McFadden
Nathan Morrison
William Young

South Scotland

Claudia Beamish
Andrew Cochran
Fiona Dugdale
Iain Gray
Kenryck Lloyd-Jones
Carol Mochan
Fiona O’Donnell
Colin Smyth

West Scotland

Shiraz Ahmed
Jackie Baillie
Johanna Baxter
Neil Bibby
Gail Casey
Joseph Cullinane
Alison Dowling
Mary Fee
Ken Macintosh
Mark MacMillan
Ian McAlpine
Margaret McCarthy
Martin McCluskey
Siobhan McCready
Angela McGinley
Ben Procter
Moira Ramage
Paul Sweeney